You are here:

2018 South African COTY semi-finalists announced


The South African Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ) have released the list of 21 semi-finalists that will compete for the 2018 South African Car of the Year title.

Awarded this year to the Opel Astra, the 26 respective jury members will take part in a vote over the coming days in announcing the finalists on September 19th, with the eventual winner expected to be crowned in March next year.

Once the list of finalist have been announced, each will be put through a number tests until the end of January, before being scored relative to their direct competitors. This year, the criteria involved in selecting the winner includes:

  • affordability
  • cabin styling, layout, and ergonomics
  • engine performance and technology
  • engineering integrity and build quality
  • exterior design
  • new technology
  • overall excellence
  • ride quality
  • steering and handling
  • transmission performance
  • value for money

In alphabetical order, the list of 21 semi-finalists selected by the Guild are as follows:

  • Alfa Romeo Giulia
  • Audi Q2
  • Audi Q5
  • BMW 5-series
  • Honda BR-V
  • Honda CR-V
  • Hyundai Creta
  • Hyundai Elantra
  • Kia Picanto
  • Kia Sportage
  • Land Rover Discovery
  • Mini Countryman
  • Mitsubishi Pajero Sport
  • Nissan Navara
  • Peugeot 3008
  • Porsche Panamera
  • Renault Megane
  • Suzuki Baleno
  • Suzuki Ignis
  • Toyota C-HR
  • Volvo S90

Article written by
You have an opportunity to be the first by writing a comment about this article. Ask a question or share your opinion!
Notify me via email when someone comments or replies
- Enter security code