You are here:

Porsche pull of memorable COTY hat trick


THE annual South African Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ) Car of the Year (COTY) competition held its winners banquet recently and announced that after the jury put all eleven finalist vehicles through their paces in two days of testing that the Porsche Macan S Diesel emerged as the winner in what has been described as one of the closest fought competitions in the 30 years since the inception of the award ceremony.

The Porsche is certainly a worthy winner as it manages to blend a degree of SUV off-road ability with great on-road dynamics, competitive pricing, quality and a reasonable parts pricing bin. The 28-member jury came to their conclusion by applying and motivating a portion of the 50 votes that each member is allocated towards the vehicle each jury member deemed most worthy, while still ensuring that at least seven of these vehicles received a portion of the allocated votes.

The winning vehicle is evaluated and scored in relation to its segment competitors with each vehicle’s final score determined by assessing aesthetics, dynamics, performance, fuel efficiency, safety, technology, parts pricing and cost of ownership, to name a few.

The local version of the COTY competition is unique in the sense that jury members all gather in the same place to drive the same cars in the same conditions, whereas in Europe, for example, the COTY competition works by journalists submitting votes electronically.

Previous winners of the WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year competition:

1986 Toyota Corolla Twin Cam
1987 Mercedes-Benz 260E
1988 BMW 735i
1989 Toyota Corolla GLi Executive
1990 BMW 525i
1991 Opel Monza 160 GSi
1992 Nissan Maxima 300 SE
1993 BMW 316i
1994 Opel Kadett 140
1995 Opel Astra 160iS
1996 Audi A4 1.8
1997 BMW 528i
1998 Ford Fiesta Fun
1999 Alfa Romeo 156 T-Spark
2000 Renault Clio 1.4 RT
2001 BMW 320d
2002 Audi A4 1.9 TDI
2003 Volkswagen Polo TDI
2004 Renault Mégane 1.9 dCi
2005 Volvo S40 2.4i
2006 Audi A3 Sportback 2.0T
2007 Honda Civic 1.8 VXi Sedan
2008 Mazda2 1.5 Individual
2009 Honda Accord 2.4 Executive
2010 Volkswagen Golf 6 1.4 TSI
2011 BMW 530d and Volkswagen Polo 1.6 TDI
2012 Hyundai Elantra 1.8 GLS Executive
2013 Porsche Boxster
2014 Porsche Cayman S
2015 Porsche Macan Diesel S

Article written by
You have an opportunity to be the first by writing a comment about this article. Ask a question or share your opinion!
Notify me via email when someone comments or replies
- Enter security code