You are here:

Sainz stamps his authority in Stage 4


THE FOURTH stage of the 2014 Dakar Rally saw former champion Carlos Sainz claim victory and the overall lead. The Spaniard finished some six minutes ahead of 11-time champion Stéphane Peterhansel, who returned to form in finishing second and moving up to fifth overall.

The South African contingent put in another good performance, with Giniel de Villiers taking seventh spot and maintaining sixth position overall. De Villiers experienced more trouble with the power steering system in his Toyota Hilux, meaning that he may have finished closer to the leaders in what was the longest stage of the rally so far at 868km, with a total racing section of 657km.

After a fantastic third place in Tuesday’s special stage,LeeroyPoulter and co-driver Robert Howie brought their Hilux home in 10th position and 29th overall after suffering damaged suspension dampers, which meant stopping for three hours.Local privateers Thomas Rundle and co-driver Juan Mohr are going well and are placed 20th overall. The pair is using the same Hilux that De Villiers took to second place in last year’s competition. The two locals are part of the 117 vehicles left out of the 154 that started the rally.

It was an exciting day in the bike category too, with Juan Pedrero crossing the finish line in first position ahead of Francisco López and Marc Coma, who came in second and third respectively. Joan Barreda maintains first position despite losing time to the rest of the pack when he briefly went off course. The other big news from Stage 4 was that Cyril Despres suffered an engine failure, which meant that he moves from second to sixth overall.

Cars Stage 4 results

1 Sainz 5h20min32
2 Peterhansel +6’4’
3 Al-Attiyah +8’58’
4 Villagra +13’19’
5 Roma +14’8’  
6 De Villiers(RSA) +24’49’

Overall results cars
1 Sainz 14h52min47
2 Roma +2’6’
3 al-Attiyah +6’56’
4 Terranova +13’8’
5 Peterhansel +18’10’
6 De Villiers(RSA) +39’10’

Bikes Stage 4 results
1Pedrero 05h29min13 
2 López +’29’
3 Coma +3’10’
4 Israel + 6’30’
5 Pain + 7’1’

Overall results bikes
1 Barreda 13h39min53 
2 Coma +3’10’
3 López +5’12’
4 Duclos +25’25’
5 Pain +29’38’

Article written by
You have an opportunity to be the first by writing a comment about this article. Ask a question or share your opinion!
Notify me via email when someone comments or replies
- Enter security code