You are here:

Second annual Pirelli Bike of the Year competition underway


THE first round of voting for the 2014 Pirelli Bike of the Year has been completed and the results have been published.

The sixteen judges from the South African Motorcycling Media were charged with choosing their top eight bikes from a list of 27 eligible entries from all major manufacturers. The bikes had to be new-for-2014 models; either brand-new design re-engineered and updated versions of existing models.

There will actually be nine finalist bikes as two bikes received six votes – tying for last spot on the list, it was deemed unfair to dismiss one of them and so it is that the Yamaha MT-07 has also been included in the list of finalist bikes for the competition. We feel it will be a worthy addition to the finalist line-up.

The finalists are, in alphabetical order, the BMW R1200GS Adventure, BMW S1000R, Ducati 899 Panigale, Ducati Monster 1200, Kawasaki Z1000, KTM Super Duke 1290, Suzuki V-Strom, Yamaha MT-07 and the Yamaha MT-09.

The next stage of the process will be a two-day judging event, held in the Sabie/Hazyview area, where 15 judges will ride all the finalist bikes over a variety of road and off-road courses.

Manufacturers/importers have been asked to supply two of each bike in order to allow the judges to spend significant time on each finalist motorcycle.

Upon conclusion, judges will be asked to vote on the bikes, using the following scoring system: 1st place receives 10 points; 2nd place, eight points; 3rd place, six points; 4th place, four points; 5th place, two points; 6th place, one point.

The winner will be announced on the first day of the AMID Motorcycle Expo. Winners will be announced to the public each day of the three-day Motorcycle Expo, where all finalists will be on display.

Article written by
You have an opportunity to be the first by writing a comment about this article. Ask a question or share your opinion!
Notify me via email when someone comments or replies
- Enter security code