Vehicle-crunching action and unexpected winners typified the final rounds of this year’s South African Production Car Championship at AA Kyalami on Saturday (November 22). -

- Topping the list of unexpected winners was Kaye-Eddie BMW 330I driver Reghardt Roets, who took a flag to flag victory in the opening Class A race. -

- He was followed by the Castrol BMW 330I entries of Anthony Taylor, Etienne van der Linde and Shaun van der Linde, plus Steve Wyndham’s Ford Credit Falcon XR8 and the Champion EON Mercedes-Benz C320 of Leeroy Poulter. -

- Early podium challengers to fall by the wayside were Steven Morris, with a broken oil pump in his Kaye-Eddie BMW and Martin Steyn, with electronic maladies in the LG Flatron Alfa Romeo 156 GTA. -

- The day’s second race – held in pouring rain – also saw Roets leading in fine, sideways-sliding style before an off-road excursion and wet electrics stopped his charge. -

- Others had problems, too – both Shaun van der Linde and Steve Wyndham spun at high speed while Martin Steyn’s Alfa retired with a puncture after skating through a sand trap. -

- All of which left Castrol BMW’s Anthony Taylor and Etienne van der Linde in the first two places – with Van der Linde’s efforts netting him the year’s Class A title. -

- Leeroy Poulter finished third in the Mercedes-Benz, ahead of BMW pilots Shaun van der Linde and Mark Allison, plus Steve Wyndham’s Ford. -

- Dawie Brough (Prominent Paints Honda Ballade V-TEC) won the opening Class B race ahead of Bert Grogor (German Workshop Toyota Corolla RSi) and Zack da Silva (Imperial Toyota Corolla RSi). -

- The second, wet race saw both Brough and Grogor fall off the track, leaving Da Silva as the only survivor in the class with his Toyota. -

- Already-crowned overall Production Car Champion Lawrence Boshoff won the opening Class C race in his Orbit Coach Works Honda Ballade 180I, followed by Doug Reekie (Ray-Ban Honda Ballade 180I) and Craig Nicholson (Sabat Honda Ballade 180i). -

- The next outing saw a brilliant display of wet-weather driving by Jesse Adams, to clinch victory ahead of Boshoff and Reekie. -

- Angus Thompson (Garonga Safari VW Golf 1600) won the first Class D race, heading home Miguel Pasqualli (Ford Racing Ikon 160I) and class Champion Dave Compton (Bumper Tech Toyota Tazz 1600). -

- Thompson crashed his Golf heavily the second time out while Pasqualli spun his Ford . -

- That left Compton to win, followed by Clint Weston (Furman Glass Ford Ikon 160I) and Roby Beninca (Born to Send VW Golf 1600). -

- Junior Production Car Champion Darren Murphy (VW Parts CitiGolf ) beat Deon Crous (VW CitiGolf) and Eckhart Schoenknecht (Caltex VW CitiGolf) to both Class E victories. -

- Crous was later chosen as the CAR Magazine Rookie of the Day, while Molefe Lebethe (Class C OKI Honda Ballade 180I) took home a whopping R25 000 as CAR Magazine’s Rookie of the Year.

Original article from Car