Serge Damseaux and Robert Paisley (Castrol Toyota RunX RSi) won the 60km Jessievale special stage by 39-seconds to extend their lead in the Total Rally South Africa to 2m 11s over Jannie Habig and Douglas Judd in the Class S2000 VW Polo.

The VW pair was second fastest and only six seconds ahead of teammates and Class A7 leaders Hergen Fekken and Pierre Arries who were in turn 58-seconds quicker than arch rivals Charl Wilken and Robin Houghton in the Castrol Toyota RunX RSi, which was being plagued by brake problems and a noisy gearbox.

Namibians Richard Himmel and Adolf Botes (Subaru WRX STi) were fifth fastest with a time of 40m 23s and were followed 41-seconds later by Japie van Niekerk and Greg Godrich in the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8. Class S20 leader Cliff Blackman and Johan Klaasen (BMW 320i) and Barry Grobbelaar and Mike Burrows (VW Golf 4) were seventh and eight respectively.

The highly fancied 20-year old Conrad Rautenbach and Peter Marsh are stranded in the stage with a broken gearbox. Visser du Plessis and Thilo von Westernhagen lost all the gears 29km into the stage but managed to force the gearbox into first gear and limp out of the stage and into retirement.

Unofficial overall positions after Special Stage 14:

1. Serge Damseaux / Robert Paisley (Castrol Toyota RunX RSi) 2:40:52

2. Jannie Habig / Douglas Judd (VW Polo) 2:43:03

3. Hergen Fekken / Pierre Arries (VW Golf) 2:47:02

4. Charl Wilken / Robin Houghton (Castrol Toyota RunX RSi) 2:48:16

5. Japie van Niekerk / Greg Godrich (Mitsubishi) 2:49:14

6. Richard Himmel / Adolf Botes (Subaru) 2:51:10

7. Cliff Blackman / Johan Klaasen (BMW) 2:53:50

8. Barry Grobbelaar / Mike Burrows (VW Golf) 2:54:19

Original article from Car