Arriving at the halfway point of their 2003 South African Championship, the Production Car racing brigade will bring a large field and panel-crunching action to AA Kyalami on Saturday, June 28. Rounds 9 and 10 of the year’s national title chase for near-standard passenger vehicles should see at least 36 cars on the Kyalami grid, with tough competition expected in each of the five contested classes. -

- Heading up the field will be Castrol BMW 330i drivers Etienne van der Linde and Anthony Taylor, currently separated by a single point at the top of the Class A ratings. Joining them in another factory-assisted Castrol BMW 330i model will be 2002 Production Car Champion Shaun van der Linde. Making his first 2003 appearance in a brand new car, the elder Van der Linde brother will be seen as the overall Kyalami victory favourite. -

- Four privateer BMW 330i drivers will have a directly opposite point of view, led by the Kaye-Eddie team’s Reghardt Roets and Steve Morris. They will attack with overall victories in mind, as will the Vaal-HP BMW squad’s Richard Sorensen and Mark Allison. Adding much interest - and able to challenge for podium positions - will be Leeroy Poulter (Champion EON Mercedes-Benz C320) and Martin Steyn, in the LG Flatron team’s Alfa Romeo 156 GTA. -

- Dawie Brough (Prominent Paints Honda Ballade V-TEC) and Brian Martin (Havoline Toyota RunX RSi) should be the Class B pacesetters. To win, they will have to beat off the likes of veteran Mike O’Sullivan (OKI Honda Ballade V-TEC), plus youngsters Bert Grogor (German Workshop Corolla RSi) and Jesse Adams (Ray Ban Honda Ballade V-TEC). -

- Close on their heels should be top Class C contenders Lawrence Boshoff (Orbit Coach Works Honda Ballade 180i), Craig Nicholson (Sabat Honda 180i), Doug Reekie (Ray Ban Honda), Gary Gordon (Honda 180i) and Molefe Lebethe (OKI Honda). Making a welcome return to the class after missing the past three meetings will be tin-top veteran Hector North - expected to be extremely competitive in his East Rand Honda Ballade 180i. -

- Current Junior Production Car Champion Dave Compton (BumperTech Toyota Tazz 1600) should be the man to beat in Class D. Taking him on will be works Ford Ikon 1,6i drivers Clinton Weston, Fanie de Bruin and Miguel Pasqualli, driving under the respective banners of Furman Glass, Murray & Roberts and Ford Racing. Others in the fray should be Angus Thompson (Garango Safari VW Golf 1,6i), James Menin (Le Grange Opel Corsa 160 GSi) and Jody Powell (Novel Ford Fiesta RSi). Returning to the class after missing the last three meetings will be Carlos Nobre - able to win in his Motorhouse VW Golf 1,6i.

Original article from Car