The pair extended their lead in the production vehicle championship and took full advantage of their first position on the road to finish ?? ahead of team mates Giniel de Villiers and Francois Jordaan in a similar Class T vehicle.

Neil Woolridge and Ken Skjoldhammer made a welcome return to the podium when they finished third overall in the Class T Team Ford Racing Ranger. Cockpit air vents malfunctioned, which made conditions in the cockpit unbearably dusty but a quick stop at the midway service point on the 448km event rectified the problem. Skjoldhammer commented after the event that it was extremely difficult to overtake in the dusty conditions and they decided maintain their position and go for a podium finish rather than run the risk of damaging the vehicle.

Apie Reyneke and Robin Houghton survived a puncture and steering problems to finish fourth overall in the Class T Castrol Toyota Land Cruiser. They too were slowed by the dusty conditions and at one stage had to stop and wait for the dust to clear before they could continue.

Nissan Dealer 400 special vehicle category winners Atang Makgekgenene and Mike Stangl picked up their second win of the season in the SAM Racing Jimco and crossed the line fifth. They were initially involved in a titanic battle with last year’s race winner Gerhard du Plessis and his wife Kobie in the Mobil Liebherr Jimco, who retired with gearbox problems at the midway point, and early category leaders Brandon Harcus and Gary Bertholdt in the BAT. Harcus and Bertholdt had two punctures on the second lap but only had one spare wheel so had to nurse the BAT home for the last 80km and had to be content with second overall in the special vehicle category.

Cliff Barker and Vic Campher had a steady run in the Barker Performance Products Land Rover and finished six the overall and fifth in the production vehicle category.

Multiple off road motorcycle champion Alfie Cox and Hennie Ter Steege did not put a wheel wrong all day and picked up a well earned Class D win - their second of the season - in the Arnold Chatz Cars Nissan Hardbody.

Nissan Sugarbelt 400 special vehicle category winners Gerald Mundell and Billy Bond finished ninth overall and third in the special vehicle category in the Prolong BAT and were followed across the line by Marius van Vuuren and Chris Mare in the Class D Alberante Autospray Land Rover.

The Class E win went to veteran Kassie Coetzee and Ockie Fourie in the Castrol Toyota Hilux KZ-TE with Clint Gibson and Mike Morton in the Praesidium BAT picking up a maiden Class B win.

Original article from Car