The Production Car racing brigade should provide many highlights at the Western Cape Killarney circuit next Saturday, (March 15) during the 2003 Vodacom Power Tour’s only visit to the venue. Rounds 2 and 3 of this year’s South African Production Car Championship will see a total of 32 entries representing ten separate manufacturers, with both new cars and drivers joining the fray. Much of the excitement is expected in Class A, where drivers will do battle in cars from BMW, Mercedes-Benz and Alfa Romeo. -

- Topping the entry list will be Castrol BMW 330i racer Etienne van der Linde, backed by the identical works-assisted car of Castrol BMW team mate Anthony Taylor. Challenging them strongly will be two privateer BMW racing equipes, with no love lost between the various camps. Richard Sorensen could lead the onslaught in his Vaal-HP BMW 330i, as could Kaye-Eddie Racing team leader Reghardt Roets in an identical car. Backing Sorensen and Roets in their respective teams will be Mark Allison (Vaal-HP BMW 330i) and visiting British racer Stephen Morris (Kaye-Eddie BMW 330i). -

- The Cape Town crowd’s favourite car should certainly be the LG Flatron teams Alfissimo Alfa Romeo 156 GTA, in the capable hands of former tin-top champion Martin Steyn. Making its debut at AA Kyalami three weeks ago, the scarlet Italian car showed impressive pace, and it could upset the current status quo at Killarney. -

- Another impressive newcomer to the category will be multiple former South African Champion and international sports car racing ace Gary Formato. Formato will be in one of the Champion EON team’s Mercedes-Benz C320 entries, and his progress behind the three-pointed star will be watched with keen interest. Formato will join regular Champion EON Mercedes-Benz C320 pilot Leeroy Poulter in the team, with a third car expected later this year. -

- Topping the Class B entry will be youngster Bert Grogor in his German Workshop Toyota Corolla RSi, versus old-timers Mike O’Sullivan (OKI Honda Ballade V-TEC) and Brian Luyt in his similar car.They will face a tough challenge from people like Dawie Brough (Prominent Paints Honda Ballade V-TEC), Jesse Adams (Killer Loop Honda Ballade V-TEC) and former single-seater racer Zack da Silva (Imperial Toyota Corolla RSi). -

- Racing in front of his home crowd, Capetonian Lawrence Boshoff (Orbit Coach Works Honda Ballade 180i) should be the man to beat in Class C. To do so, he will have to beat of the likes of Ian Long (Honda Spares Ballade 180i), Craig Nicholson (Sabat Honda 180i) and Molefe Lebethe (Honda Spares Ballade 180i). -

- Current Junior Production Car Champion Dave Compton will head up the Class D entry with his Toyota Tazz 1600. Taking him on in brand new Ford Ikon 1,6 models will be Clinton Weston and Miguel Pasqualli, under the respective banners of Furman Glass and Murray & Roberts. Others to watch in the class will be James Menin (Le Grange Opel Corsa 160 GSi), Irshad Jaffer (Castrol Daihatsu Sirion 1300), plus Motorhouse VW CitiGolf 1,6i drivers Angus Thompson and Dale Knez. -

- In Class E, Darren Murphy will start as favourite in his VW CitiGolf 1,4i, challenged by Riyad Jaffer (Castrol Toyota Tazz 1300) and Francois van Zyl (Opel Corsa 140i). -

- The Production Car competitors will tackle two races at Killarney - an eight-lap Sprint in the morning, followed by a 15-lap Feature event in the afternoon. The two races will count for equal Championship points. “That format will be conducive to an excellent day of competition. Drivers have to use the same set of Firestone Firehawk tyres for both races, which will bring tactics into play, as opposed to sheer speed,” said Mr Vaughn Williams, Chairman of the South African Production Car Racing Association.

Original article from Car