The points scoring system for the 2005 Absa Off Road Championship has been revised to place more emphasis on overall positions.

The MSA Off Road Car Racing Commission has decided that the overall and class points will no longer be combined, which in the past often resulted in cars entered in the lower classes finishing ahead of the more powerful Class A and Class T vehicles and, in some cases, winning the championship overall.

“Throughout the world major championships are based on overall position,” said MSA Off Road Car Racing Commission President, Piet Swanepoel. “It was time that off road racing followed suit and rewarded the top performers for their efforts.”

Class A and Class T competitors have welcomed the changes to the points scoring system.

“It was rather frustrating for Richard Leeke and I to have won the majority of the events overall in the Proudly South African Nissan Hardbody in 2003 and 2004 only to be at risk of losing the championship to a Class D or Class E team at the end of the year,” said reigning Production Vehicle champion, Hannes Grobler. “The revised points scoring system should eliminate this threat.”

Reigning Special Vehicle champion Atang Makgekgenene echoed Grobler’s sentiments. The Motswana driver won four of the eight rounds of the 2004 championship in the Total Jimco and was constantly under threat from Class B champions Marcus Taylor and Marc de Chalain because of the combined points situation.

“Top performers in the various Production and Special Vehicle classes will still receive the recognition due to them and additional incentives have been introduced to encourage competitors to excel at all levels,” added Swanepoel.

“The annual Absa Off Road Championship Awards will include the Milestone Award for all crews that complete all rounds of the championship, which was won last year by Henri Zermatten and Bodo Schwegler in the Master Craft / Playstation Mitsubishi, the Highest Placed Newcomers Award, which was won by Team Ford Racing’s development team of Baphumze Rubuluza and Khulile Vakalisa and the Highest Placed Lady Award, which was won in 2004 by Zelda van der Walt who navigated for husband Neels in the Class E Nissan Hardbody.”

Points will be awarded as follows:

Overall - Class 1st 25 - 20 2nd 19 - 16 3rd 15 - 13 4th 12 - 12 5th 11 - 11 6th 10 - 10 7th 9 - 9 8th 8 - 8 9th 7 - 7 10th 6 - 6 11th 5 - 5 12th 4 - 4 13th 3 - 3 14th 2 - 2 15th 1 - 1

Original article from Car