Back in November 2018, we revealed the seven finalists in the running to grab the European Car of the Year award for 2019. And now the overall winner has been announced...

The Jaguar I-Pace (which has just launched in South Africa) won the award, narrowly beating the Alpine A110 in a tie-breaker after both vehicles ended on 250 points.

The Kia Ceed placed a close third with 247 points, while the Ford Focus (235) managed fourth and the Citroën C5 Aircross (210) fifth. The Peugeot 508 ended up sixth with 192 points, while the Mercedes-Benz A-Class finished in seventh place with 116 points.

The I-Pace draws its urge from a 90 kWh battery sited in the floor, feeding two axle-mounted (one fore and one aft) synchronous electric motors paired with a concentric single-speed transmission. 
Peak outputs come in at 294 kW and 696 N.m, which the Coventry-based brand says is enough for a zero to 100 km/h dash of 4,8 seconds. A single full charge, meanwhile, will provide a range of “up to 470 km” (on the WLTP cycle).

Some 60 jury members voted to declare the overall winner of the European Car of the Year awards, with each juror having to apportion 25 points among at least five finalists.

The Volvo XC40 won the award in 2018. In 2017, the Peugeot 3008 took top honours, while the Opel Astra triumphed in 2016, the Volkswagen Passat in 2015, the Peugeot 308 in 2014 and the Volkswagen Golf in 2013.
Jaguar I-Pace

Original article from Car